Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

Ringing in the New Year with Ustream!

52590-1260814138

With the holidays come and gone, it’s time to look to 2010, and Ustream has coverage of all the hottest celebrity events, parties, and fireworks to ring in the new year.

Tune in to our official live coverage of the NYE countdown from Times Square in New York. Watching the ball drop in Times Square is one of the best ways to kick off the new year, and seeing it live will be so much better than having to stand out in the cold! Be sure to tune in to CBS’ channel here on NYE for all the coverage.

On New Years Eve, tune in here to watch the world-famous fireworks display from Funchal Harbor on the island of Madeira off the coast of Portugal. This vacation hot spot is in the Guinness Book of World Records for having the world’s largest fireworks display in the world, and you’ll get to see it live on Ustream! The events get underway just before midnight in Portugal, which means you can tune in in the states at 3pm PST/6pm EST.

At 5pm PST/8pm EST, tune in to chill with Trey Songz when he does his weekly fan chat. Log in to the chat room or give him a call on his Saynow number and ask what his plans are for 2010. His channel can be found here.

Start 2010 off right by checking out Chris Pirillo’s New Years eve stream. The yearly event, called Subservient Chris, raises money for a Tucson, Ariz. Muscular Dystrophy Association in honor of his late friend Cory Carrier, who lost his battle in October of this year. New Years Eve from 10pm to 1am EST, anyone who makes the minimum $10 donation will get to make Chris to do something funny, random, or just plain embarrassing live on his Ustream channel here.

Next, be sure to check out the red carpet and swanky star-studded event at the Omphoy in Palm Beach, an exclusive club. Star DJs, live music performances, and champagne will abound, so be sure to tune in here to check it out.

On New Years’ Day, tune in to watch the Junkanoo festival live from Nassau in the Bahamas. The Junkanoo festival occurs during the dark hours of December 26th and again during the first hours of light on January 1st. Thousands of people dance through Bay Street, Nassau’s main thoroughfare, wearing brightly colored clothing and dancing. Tune in here in the early morning hours of Jan. 1st to check it out.


Avatar Blue Carpet and Other Events for the Week of 12/14

avatar upcoming

On Wednesday, December 16th, tune in here at 6pm PST/9pm EST to watch the official “blue carpet” premiere of Avatar from the Chinese Theater in Hollywood. Director James Cameron’s long-awaited $400 million dollar film has already wowed critics and been called “jaw-dropping” and “mind-blowing” in its innovative use of special effects. Don’t miss the blue carpet of a film that’s sure to change the landscape of cinema as we know it today.

Other Events for the Week of 12/14

Today at 3:30pm PST/6:30pm EST, tune in here for a live web chat with singer/songwriter Jason Castro, who has been wowing fans with his eclectic, unique sound since he first appeared on American Idol in 2008. His debut self-titled album is set for release in early 2010. Tune in here to hear him talk about his creative process and answer questions live from the social stream and chat!

Tuesday at 5am PST/8am EST, tune in here to see Jon Krasinski, Diane Kruger, and Justin Timberlake announce the nominees for the 67th annual Golden Globe Awards. The awards take place on January 17th on NBC, and will be hosted by Ricky Gervais. Tune in here to watch the nominations live.

Tuesday at 7pm PST/10pm EST tune in here to watch web celeb Taryn Southern host her own “Top 10” show on Ustream. From auditioning for American Idol to hosting the 2008 Grammys, to starring in her own You Tube videos, Taryn’s rise to stardom has been non-traditional but nonetheless meteoric. Come check out her new Ustream show to see what all the buzz is about!

Wednesday at 8pm PST/11pm EST, tune in to The Room Live here to see musician, artist, and activist Derrick Ashong perform live and answer questions. Born in Accra, Ghana and currently studying to get his PhD. at Harvard, he has produced a musical, formed a pan-African group called Soulfège which has gotten worldwide attention, and has lectured on musicology at institutions all over the world. In addition, he has gained the support of Oprah, and his performance will be embedded on Oprah.com!

Thursday and Friday at 10:30am PST/1:30pm EST, join published author and teacher Adora Svitak–who happens to be only 12 years old–share tips on acing the State Writing Test. Parents won’t want to miss her helpful tips right here.

Thursday at 5pm PST/8pm EST, join R&B sensation Trey Songz as he takes YOUR phone calls live via his Say Now phone number. Wherever he is–whether on the road, chillin at a hotel, or relaxing at home, he takes time out of his busy schedule to hang out with his fans and show them some love! Tune in here.

Friday at 1pm PST/4pm EST, join Jason Calacanis and his team for an episode of This Week in Startups where their guest will be former CMO of MySpace and current CEO of Cocodot.com Shawn Gold. Tune in here to watch.

Saturday at 10:30am PST/1:30pm EST, tune in here to watch Bollywood actor, director, and producer Aamir Khan go live from India. For anyone not familiar with him or the scope of his work, he has been active in the film industry since he was a child, and appeared in the highest-grossing Bollywood movie of all time, Ghajini. Tune in here to learn more about this dynamic and influential member of India’s Bollywood elite!

Also, tune in all week to catch episodes of Actor’s Entertainment, the hour-long web show dedicated to the film and TV industry. Veterans of Hollywood’s movie studios are frequent guests, so anyone interested in the Hollywood life, or simply curious about what goes on behind-the-scenes will definitely want to check it out here.


Ustream Makes History With First Live Broadcaster for iPhone in App Store

soccer

Today we are thrilled to announce the availability of the Ustream Live Broadcaster for the iPhone, now available from the official iTunes App Store.  This is the first live broadcaster ever available in the App Store, bringing the ability to broadcast live to anyone. From birthday parties, kids’ sports games and baby’s first steps to your latest vacation, this app enables anyone with an iPhone to share important moments with family, friends and more.

The Ustream Live Broadcaster is a free app that enables live streaming on 3G or Wifi, and users can notify their Twitter communities when they start broadcasting, and interact with their viewers using chat or Twitter through Ustream’s Social Stream.

For more information, go to ustream.tv/mobile or download the live broadcasting app to check it out here.


Mobile Roadie Partners with Ustream to Power Official iPhone App for Le Web

Picture 2

Picture 1

Ustream is part of a first-of-its-kind dedicated iPhone app for our live stream of Le Web 2009, kicking off in Paris on Wednesday, Dec. 9. We’ve partnered with Mobile Roadie, a company that develops iPhone apps, to enable the Ustream live feed to be viewed along with a host of interactive information about the conference on the iPhone. The app allows anyone, anywhere in the world, to virtually attend the conference by watching it live on their iPhone with a detailed show schedule and agenda, speaker bios, and directions, as well as a list of show attendees with links to their Twitter profiles to help people network. The App also supports Facebook Connect and Twitter, making it easy to syndicate comments and information to multiple social networks.

Whether you’ll be in Paris for the event or staying state-side to watch the live feed, the Le Web iPhone app by Mobile Roadie is a valuable tool for attendees and viewers to interact with Le Web 2009 while on-the-go.

Download the Le Web iPhone App here.

Watch Le Web on Ustream starting December 9 right here.

Subscribe to updates