Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

Ustream Named A “Most Innovative Company” by Fast Company

MIC_logo_wbackgroundFast Company just released its annual Most Innovative Companies list that honors businesses  across the economy and around the globe that define business innovation for 2010. Ustream was recognized as No. 8 on the list of the Most Innovative Companies in the Web category!

We’re humbled by and excited about this recognition. We’ve come a long way since Ustream started nearly three years ago. Expect us to continue providing tools for our community to produce the best live streams. Keep checking in for updates!

Fast Company determined its 2010’s Most Innovative Companies based on its analysis of information on thousands of businesses across the globe. The distinction aims to identify creative models and progressive cultures, and to define the many forms of innovation that exist across the business landscape. Check out Fast Company’s March 2010 issue for more details.


Tiger Woods Press Conference and Other Events for the Week

tiger

On Friday, don’t miss Tiger Woods’ press conference live from Florida, provided by Ustream partner CBS News. He will be breaking his silence publicly for the first time and is expected to formally announce his return to the PGA tour. Tune in here to watch.

Other Events this Week:

On Thursday at 11:30am PST/2:30pm EST, tune in here to watch Naomi Campbell’s Fashion for Relief runway show from London Fashion Week! If you didn’t get a chance to see last week’s runway show from New York Fashion Week, be sure to check it out here. Naomi Campbell, Chris Brown, and other celebrities walked the runway!

Thursday at 7pm PST/10pm EST, tune in here for a weekly chat with recording artist Macy Gray. She’ll have a special surprise guest on with her, so tune in to see who it is!

Friday at 9am PST/12pm EST, tune in to Duke University’s channel for an episode of Office Hours. The topic of the day will be Duke’s ROTC program. The director will be taking your questions live via Facebook and Twitter, so be sure to tune in if you have questions or are curious about what it takes to train leaders in the ROTC program.

Starting Friday at 2:30pm PST/5:30pm EST and going through Sunday, tune in to OTBnTV for live coverage of the 2010 USBA National Championships. They’ll be streaming the final 3 days of the 3 Cushion National Championships from Tacoma, WA. Tune in here to see the best pool players battle it out for the top prize!

Beginning Friday at 3pm PST/6pm EST, tune in here for the start of the 2010 THON Dance Marathon at Penn State University. Each year, the event draws thousands of participants who dance for 48-hours straight to raise money for childhood cancer research and treatment. Don’t miss this act of philanthropy with an artistic flair!

Friday at 5pm PST/8pm EST, tune in here for the Alice in Wonderland Ultimate Fan event, hosted by Youtube star Phillip DeFranco, aka PhillyD. Also making an appearance will be the film’s director Tim Burton, and members of the cast including Anne Hathaway, Helena Bonham Carter, and Crispin Glover. This will be followed by live performances from some of the bands who contributed songs to the film’s soundtrack, including 3OH!3 and Metro Station.

Friday at 6pm PST/9pm EST, tune in for the premiere party of the new web series The Steps. It will be the first-ever ‘device party’ where attendees will tune in to the show on their mobile devices and laptops. Check out the premiere and the first episode here.

Starting Friday, tune in here to watch live broadcasts from Budweiser’s Club Bud at the Vancouver Olympics. Friday at 10pm PST/1am EST, the top snowboarders and skiers in the world will be feted at the Club Bud Burton Party, and Saturday at 10pm PST, hockey’s biggest players will be attending the Club Bud NHL Party. Don’t miss your chance to hang with US Olympians, including Seth Wescott, Nate Holland, Graham Watanabe, Faye Gulini, and more!

Saturday and Sunday, tune in to watch the Men’s and Women’s USBC Bowling champs compete in the qualifying rounds and finals. For a complete schedule of events, visit their channel page here.

Saturday, tune in for raw cage-fighting action at NAAFS. Top Mixed Martial Arts fighters will duke it out for the ultimate title–and ultimate bragging rights. Watch it here starting at 3:30pm PST/6:30pm EST.


Ustream Enters Asia Pacific with Softbank Corp. of Japan

In this memorable milestone and moment, I would like to provide the color behind the fundraising announcement.

When we first founded Ustream in the summer of 2006, we believed that Asia was a strategic environment for a service like Ustream to flourish. Since then, we’ve made strategic decisions to partner with DCM, our lead series A investor and strong US/Asia VC firm, and now Softbank Corp., a major mobile carrier and internet conglomerate in Asia, to march toward our vision.

What really excites us is the vision that billions of web and mobile users will go-live and watch-live content on Ustream in Asia.

We’re honored to announce this relationship with Softbank and look forward to working with Softbank.

Subscribe to updates