Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

Owl Cams, Race Cars, Russell Simmons, and more!

molly

If you’re still mourning the departure of the Shiba 5 (see their videos here), maybe an owl cam will perk you up. Check out new viral sensation Molly the barn owl as she raises her chicks Wesley, Max, and Pattison, swallows rabbits whole, and gets visits from daddy owl McGee. There’s always something going on, so click here to check it out!

Wednesday at 9:30am PST/12:30pm EST, tune in here for another live chat on This Week with the 88–the show that takes you behind-the-scenes with Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s Ampd Energy pit crew. Nascar fans and anyone who enjoys learning more about what it takes to maintain high performance vehicles definitely won’t want to miss it!

Wednesday at 11am PST/2pm EST sit down and get to know Russell Simmons, the Media Mogul and entrepreneur who has done everything from cofound a record label (Def Jam) to launch a clothing and lifestyle brand (Phat Farm). His latest project is the launch of a new web series called “Hussle with Russels’.” Tune in to his official Ustream channel here to catch a sneak preview of the new series!

Wednesday at 12pm PST/3pm EST, tune to chat with director Robert Rodriguez about his latest movie, Predators. He’ll be taking questions from all over the world live from his Austin, TX headquarters. He’s broadcasting twice to accomodate different time zones: once at 12pm PST and once at 7pm PST. So you have 2 chances to tune in! You can watch it from the official Predators Movie page here.

Wednesday at 6pm PST/9pm EST, tune in here to watch the rapper on everyone’s buzz list–Young Money’s Nicki Minaj–as she chats with her fans right after premiering her new music video on BET. You can watch from her official Ustream channel here.

Wednesday at 7pm PST/10pm EST, hang out with your ‘New Best Friend’ Allison Rosen. She’ll have a special guest in attendance: recording artist and sometime motivational speaker Andrew WK. Tune in here to watch.

Beginning Thursday and running through Saturday, tune in to Swimnet’s channel to see Olympic legend Michael Phelps and the best swimmers in the world compete in the Grand Prix. Tune in here to watch.

Archived events:
On Tuesday Usher celebrated the release of his latest album Usher vs. Usher live from his official Ustream channel page. Click here to watch the video.

Justin Bieber Live Chat and Other Events for the Week of 3/15

justin bieber

Join Ustream and MySpaceUK on Thursday, March 18th at 9:30am PST/12:30pm EST for a live chat with music superstar Justin Bieber! This is a special opportunity to see the 16-year-old wunderkind speak candidly about his career, his fame, and his love life! Tune in here to meet Justin on Thursday!

On Wednesday at 10am PST/1pm EST, tune in to MySpaceUK’s channel to see a live chat with the comedic heavy metal band Steel Panther. They’re out to prove that hair bands are alive and well on the music scene. Rock out on the channel page here.

Wednesday at 12:30pm PST/3:30pm EST, it’s time for another broadcast with Cisco executives on the Talk2Cisco show page. Tune in here for a live discussion about the impact of border-less networks with John McCool, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Data Center, Switching and Services Group and Rob Soderbery, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Ethernet Switching Technology Group.

Wednesday at 2pm PST/5pm EST, tune in here for a live chat with pop-rock band Hot Chelle Rae on the official Friendsorenemies channel page here. Want to know where they got their name, or what it was like opening for Lil John during their first tour? Be sure to tune in to their chat, because they’ll be taking your questions live!

Wednesday at 2:15pm PST/3:15pm EST, the Official White House Channel on Ustream will be going live to host an official discussion about the new health care legislation with Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius. She’ll be taking questions from Social Stream about health care reform, so you won’t want to miss it! Tune in to the Official White House channel page here.

Wednesday at 4pm PST/7pm EST, tune in to Duke University’s channel to see an episode of DukeReads Online Book Club with Professor Michael Malone. He’ll be discussing “The Maltese Falcon,” a detective novel by Dashiell Hammett published in 1930. You can see the broadcast from Duke’s Show page here.

Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, Ustream will provide continued live coverage from SXSW in Austin! Tune in to the SXSW 2010 channel page here to catch live performances by Surfer Blood, Nneka, Never Shout Never, and more! Stay tuned to the channel page here for updates.

Friday at 8:30am PST/11:30am EST, it’s time for Mini Viva live. Join the British pop duo every week on their channel page here to chat live about their music and inspiration.

Friday at 1pm PST/4pm EST, This Week In goes live with David Heinemeier Hansson, creator of Ruby on Rails and partner at 37signals. You can watch the live interview on the This Week In channel page here.

Friday at 5pm PST/8pm EST, tune in for a live chat with Def Jam’s The School Gyrls. The three talented members of the group were all handpicked by Nick Cannon and already have a self-titled movie and their own Archie comic book, in addition to a highly anticipated upcoming special on Teen Nick! Tune in here to get to know the girls and ask questions live!


Ustream’s SXSW “Breakthrough” Party!

SXSWsmall

Going to South By Southwest in Austin? So are we! To celebrate three years of bringing live streams to the world, we’ll be hosting our first-ever party during South By Southwest’s Interactive Festival on Friday, March 12 starting at 8 p.m. CT at The Phoenix. As an Official SXSW Kick-off Party, the Ustream event will feature an evening of performances by the band Gym Class Heroes with host Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy. The first 500 badge-holders to arrive will be granted access, so if you’re in Austin on Friday, March 12, join us at The Phoenix, 409 Colorado Street in Austin, for a night to remember.

Stay tuned for updates of other streams from SXSW taking place throughout the 10-day festival.

For more information on Ustream’s Official SXSW Kick-off Party, go to our Facebook page here.

Subscribe to updates