Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

This Week in Highlights: Top 5 Moments from NATO Protests

The weekend saw thousands of protesters descend on Chicago for the NATO Summit. If you were watching the action live on Ustream, you saw the many live feeds coming through courtesy of a few brave citizen journalists. These journalists, armed with their streaming mobile phones, entered the fray and were able to capture moments of chaos, terror, and solidarity among the Occupy Protesters who gathered to voice their concerns over NATO policies. Here is a collection of some of the most illuminating, terrifying moments captured over the weekend:

1. Ustream Provides “Instantaneous Accountability” for NATO Protesters
[clear here]

2. Independent Journalists Raided by Police at NATO Summit
[clear here]

3. Tim Pool Recounts being Raided by Police at NATO Summit
[clear here]

4. NATO Protesters Clash with Police
[clear here]

5. Protesters Sing, Cheer as Police Line Retreats


Weekly Events Calendar 5/21


SpaceX Second Launch Attempt
Tuesday, 5/22 at 12:45a PT/3:45a ET
The SpaceX unmanned rocket will begin its second launch attempt after the first was aborted a half second before liftoff on Saturday. Engineers have been working to fix a mechanical failing in one of the rocket’s 9 engines. If successful, the rocket will be traveling to the international space station!


TechCrunch Disrupt
Monday, 5/21 – Wednesday, 5/23
TechCrunch Disrupt is back on Ustream! Tune in for 3 days of panels and discussions with leading startup founders and find the next big thing!

 

Salesforce: Cloudforce
Tuesday, 5/22 at 1:30a PT/4:30a ET
The worldwide Cloudforce Social Enterprise Tour arrives in London on May 22nd, and you can watch all the groundbreaking announcements live! In addition, hear from the leaders of O2, Burberry, Spotify, Activision, and LinkedIn to hear their stories of Social Enterprise transformation.

Garbage Live in NYC
Tuesday, 5/22 at 6p PT/9p ET
Celebrate the release of Garbage’s new album with a full-on live concert from New York’s Webster Hall!

 

Disney Webcast
Tuesday, 5/22 at 6p PT/9p ET
Melissa Joan Hart, former star of Sabrina, The Teenage Witch and current co-star of Melissa & Joey on the ABC Family network, will join Moms Panelists Amanda Ficili and Jill Cooper for a live chat about making summers memorable with your kids!

Redbull Soundspace: Nelly Furtado
Wednesday, 5/23 at 2p PT/5p ET
Singer Nelly Furtado is the next guest artist on the Redbull Soundspace. Tune in on Wednesday to hear her sing new material and some old favorites!

 

Hatchet Attacks 2012
Saturday, 5/26 at 12p PT/3p ET
Jugaloos the world over will be tuning in to Ustream on Saturday for the 2012 Hatchet Attacks! See 6 hours of live performances by Insane Clown Posse, Twiztid, Blaze Ya Dead Homie, ABK, Boondox, DJ Clay, Mike E. Clark, and JCW Wrestling!

Zumiez Couch Tour
Saturday, 5/26 at 12p PT/3p ET
Saturday brings the first stop in the Zumiez Couch Tour live from Seattle, Washington. Tune in for live skate demos and music from The Classic Crime and Daytrader!

 

NASL: Strikers vs. Silverbacks
Starting Friday, 5/25 at 4:30p PT/7:30p ET
See teams the Ft. Lauderdale Strikers take on the Atlanta Silverbacks on their home turf on Friday. [clear here]

 

AFL Games
Friday, 5/25 starting at 5p PT/8p ET
The Arena Football League’s entire 2012 season is live on Ustream! Tune in on Friday to see highly anticipated matchups between the Jacksonville Sharks and Atlanta Predators and Spokane Shock vs. Iowa Barnstormers!

A5N Rugby: Hong Kong vs. Kazakhstan
Saturday, 5/26 at 12a PT/3a ET
It’s time for another Asian 5 Nations Rugby match! See Hong Kong take on Kazakhstan, and get your PPV tickets today!

 

FIIM Swedish Speedway Grand Prix
Saturday, 5/26 at 10a PT/1p ET
Tune in for the 4th race of the 2012 Speedway Grand Prix season. The live racing will be held in Gothenburg, Sweden.


This Week in Highlights – The Top 5 Highlights of the Week!

It has been quite a busy week on Ustream! In case you missed it, here is a run-down of the top 5 Ustream moments this week, in no particular order:

1. Pres. Obama Addresses the Nation from Afghanistan

[clear here]

2. Massive Demonstrations in Moscow

[clear here]

3. Chris Hemsworth and Chris Evans Talk Superheroes

[clear here]

4. Rescuer Saves Baby Eaglet in 75ft High Nest

[clear here]

5. Adam Sandler and Andy Samberg sing NKOTB


London 2012 Olympic Torch Relay

Whether you’re a gymnastics or a javelin fan, kick off the summer games with us by tuning in for the official Olympic Torch Lighting Ceremony. Starting in Olympia, Greece, the relay will traverse some 8,000 miles of the UK before ending its journey in London. Want to watch it LIVE? Tune in beginning at 12:00 p.m. PT/3:00pm ET on Thursday, May 10 right here.


Weekly Events Calendar 5/7

Gold Derby
Monday, 5/7 at 12p PT/3p ET
Join special guests Kiefer Sutherland (“Touch” on Fox) and Kit Harington (“Game of Thrones” on HBO) for this weeks’ live episode! Both stars will dish with Gold Derby’s Tom O’Neil on their shows, characters, the Emmys race, and more.

Ricki Lake’s ‘More Business of Being Born’
Monday, 5/7 at 5p PT/8p ET
Just in time for Mother’s Day, Ricki Lake returns to Ustream to chat live about her documentary, “More Business of Being Born.” [clear here]

NBC’s ‘The Voice’ Aftershow
Monday, 5/7 at 7p PT/10p ET
Host Christina Milian sticks around for The Voice Aftershow to talk about all the performances and buzz surrounding the new episode! It’s down to the wire with only 4 contestants left, so be sure to tune in and see what happens!

Silversun Pickups on KROQ Soundspace
Tuesday, 5/8 at 11:30a PT/2:30p ET
Indie-rock band the Silversun Pickups will be following up their performance at the KROQ Weenie Roast with an intimate live gig at the KROQ Soundspace. The band’s new album, ‘Neck of the Woods’ comes out the same day.

Nick Jonas and Rose Hemingway Live Q&A
Tuesday, 5/8 at 1p PT/4p ET
Nick Jonas has parlayed his Broadway performance in “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying” into a spinoff EP album. He’ll be live with his Broadway castmate Rose Hemingway to talk about the show and the album. Use the hashtag #NickEP to ask your questions!

Dove Mother’s Day Twitter Party
Wednesday, 5/9 at 5p PT/8p ET
Make Mother’s Day special. Join the DOVE® Chocolate Mother’s Day Twitter Party and share your favorite Mother’s Day memories with your favorite chocolate.

 

Bing Lounge: Death Cab for Cutie
Friday, 5/11 at 4p PT/7p ET
Swoon! Get your lighters ready, because indie rock three-piece Death Cab for Cutie are next up to perform in the Bing Lounge.

 

Asian 5 Nations Rugby: Korea vs. Japan
Friday, 5/11 at 8p PT/11p ET
In what is perhaps the most highly anticipated matchup of the series, Korea will take on Japan in the upcoming Asian 5 Nations Rugby League. PPV tickets are available now for only $9.99. [clear here]

FIM Mitas Czech Republic Speedway GP
Saturday, 5/12 at 10a PT/1p ET
Live from Prague, tune in for the Speedway World Championships, where intrepid, daredevil motorcycle racers will compete for the top prize! [clear here]

Island Assault 4: Viloria vs. Romero
Saturday, 5/12 at 6p PT/9p ET
Two of the world’s top flyweights will be in action on Saturday for the Island Assault 4 PPV boxing event. The fight is taking place in Pasig City, Metro Manila, Philippines and is distributed in the US by Integrated Sports.


Just Announced: Justin Bieber Premieres Video for “Boyfriend” LIVE Tomorrow!

Join MTV First tomorrow at 4:50pm PT/7:50pm ET for the LIVE premiere of Justin Bieber’s new music video for “Boyfriend.” After the premiere, Justin will sit down for a live 30 minute Q&A where he’ll be answering questions directly from fans! Now’s your chance to get your marriage proposal in! Tweet @MTVNews with the hashtag #AskBieber. Be sure to tune in and watch live at www.ustream.tv/mtv


This Week in Highlights – #Occupy #MayDay Edition

From New York to Oakland, the world was watching on May 1st, 2012. Thanks to Broadcasters like Tim Pool and Oaktown Pirate, viewers were glued to their seats as activists voiced their concerns and clashed with police. In case you missed it, here are the top 5 #MayDay highlights, in no particular order:

1. Activists Unite for #Occupy #MayDay Protests Across the U.S.


[clear here]
2. NYPD Clashes with #OWS Protesters on #MayDay


[clear here]
3. 
Tom Morello sings “This Land is Your Land” with #OWS on #MayDay


[clear here]
4. Oakland Police Throw Grenades at #Mayday Protesters
 
[clear here]
5. Oakland Police Use Armored Tank against #MayDay Protesters
 

[clear here]
To check out more #Occupy footage, be sure to check out our OWS Superchannel here: http://www.ustream.tv/occupywallstreet

Subscribe to updates